Truckers, Diggers and Wings

I seem to have slipped back into one of my ‘can’t read for shit’ lulls, which I suppose shouldn’t be too surprising. I’ve been trying for ages now to read The Silent Cry, and never managing to get very far. It’s quite annoying, because it’s actually quite interesting – just quite dense, especially the layout of the text and font size in my particular copy.

So often these days I simply can’t concentrate when reading. I used to read incredibly voraciously, but when stopped when I got very ill in 2008. After about a year and a half, I managed to finish A Farewell to Arms. Then I read Kafka on the Shore, and that got me back into reading properly.

Annoyingly, I don’t have an available Murakami novel this time. I might have to do something about that soon.

For now though, I have a series I first read at 13, and haven’t re-read since. I remember loving them at the time, racing through all three in one holiday. We were caravanning in Bude, Cornwall, and I killed all the boring time we spent inside the caravan lost in these books. They were also my very first introduction to one of my long term favourite authors; Terry Pratchett. It was the Nome Trilogy: Truckers, Diggers, and Wings.

So I’m thinking I shall try and re-read this rather silly series, rather than aim to be all intellectual.

2 thoughts on “Truckers, Diggers and Wings

  1. I love Terry Pratchett. It is a horrible tragedy that his brilliance is about to be lost to the world. If you haven’t read the Discworld Series, you really should. They are brilliant.

Leave a Reply

